Institute for Oral Health

Healthy Start for Texas Teeth Community Service Grant

ADHA’s Institute for Oral Health is pleased to offer the Healthy Start for Texas Teeth Community Service Grants. This program fosters collaborative efforts between individuals or local components of the Texas Dental Hygienists’ Association and community agencies servicing under served populations to provide the preventative benefits of fluoride varnish for under served populations.

One recipient will be selected annually and will receive the following:

  • $1,000 grant monies used toward the purchase of supplies and other expenses to support the program.

Eligibility Requirements

  • TDHA components, Texas hygienists, and/or dental hygiene students (partnered with registered hygienists) are eligible to apply
  • Grant monies are for community-based fluoride varnish programs for underserved populations
  • Minimum number of varnish applications is 2 per person within a 12 month period
  • Minimum number of participants to receive varnish is 200
  • Maximum administrative costs for the program must not exceed 25% of total award amount
  • Fluoride varnish program must include an educational component
  • Program must include a collaborative partnership between 3 or more entities (e.g. TDHA, Head Start, and Dental Hygiene School)
  • Program must demonstrate an effort to refer participants to a dental home
  • Current ADHA Institute Board of Directors, ADHA Board of Trustees and members of the Research Grant Review Committee may not apply as principal investigators

Application period is closed and will open on November 1.

Healthy Start for Texas Teeth Community Service Grant Application Available: November 1, 2014
Healthy Start for Texas Teeth Community Service Grant Deadline: February 28, 2015
Recipient Selection: July 1, 2015